Generation Y, we need to talk

Although many of us are self-proclaimed independents, anyone from Generation Y can agree that being alone isn’t always the answer. No matter how tough we look on the outside or how many times we pretend it’s okay that we’re a part of a generation in which dating and chivalry are supposedly nonexistent, we’re actually not.

Whether you have accepted defeat or not, you’re probably still struggling with an internal battle: to remain a hopeless romantic waiting for your very own Nicholas Sparks’ novel to come true or accepting defeat and living it up in a world that combines Sex and the City and Girls with way too much Belvedere vodka and the confidence that you too can play the game just as well as “the player.”

Exhibit A:

neighbors-movie-poster-19.jpg

For all intensive purposes, the ‘player’ in this scenario is the college boy whose mastered the hookup culture and puts his pleasure before feelings, drama and monogamy. Now don’t get me wrong, this does NOT apply to all guys. But even the good guys out there can admit there a dime a dozen. A diamond in a pool of bad boys who know how to act good…’til they get what they want. (I think you can read between the lines on that one)

I get it…I totally sound like a hater, but I’m not. Look I wish I could “act like a lady, think like a man” 24/7, but emotions can get in the way. So it’s more like this: I start the night like, “Ok guys, f**k it. Let’s just act like the boys. We can play the game just as good as them.” 

2 hours later…

“I can’t do this; I care way too much! We were vibing so hard 10 mins ago then that girl in
____ sorority showed up with a crop top, which showed more skin than a Victoria’s Secret push-up bra, and he was gone like the wind. I can’t even look at another guy. I’m going home and ordering pizza.”

ngg23 - Copy

Now that, ladies (and gentleman) IS REALITY. Unfortunately, waaaaaaay too many nights end like that. And after almost four years in college, I got quite the running list of epic fails and humiliatingly awesome stories. So catch me on a good day and I’ll be happy to share.

tumblr_mwjnbwAdHD1r70utso1_500.gif

Don’t judge me or that girl’s face (although her crying face is not nearly as bad as the infamous Kim Kardashian crying gif, this girl will make the cut for now) ^^^^

Because we’ve ALL been there. We’ve all been complete hot messes, but what gets me through the day? It’s not MY fault. I blame it on the generation. Whether good, bad or indifferent, this generation’s culture has changed us. Whether its social media, technology taking over our lives, Kylie Jenner dating Tyga, Justin Bieber becoming a bleach blonde, bad ass, explicit rap lyrics or the fact that Donald Trump is running for president, sh*t is going down and none of us can predict what will happen next.

So for now, take a seat and relax. Allow me to be the eyes and ears into Generation Y for you. I will always tell it like it is and, don’t worry, I am not afraid to make fun of myself. Stay tuned for more #weneedtotalk2016

2 comments

  1. Arianna F · January 19, 2016

    Love this, so funny! And also, unfortunately for us, so accurate.

    Like

  2. Jennifer Granat · January 25, 2016

    👏🏻 So excited for #weneedtotalk2016 and look forward to hearing more from the voice of Generation Y and all things #millennial! 😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

